9.2 Channel THX Ultra2 Plus, Air Studios AV Receiver with 9x HDMI, USB-DAC, 4K Upscaling, WLAN and MHL for Android (Black)

Customer reviews (12)

Average customer ratings What is this?

  • Overall performance 
  • Design 
  • Sound and/or video quality 
  • Ease of use 
  • Build/construction quality 
  • Value for money 
  • Total average score: 8.5/10 

86.0% of all customers would recommend this product to a friend.




Reviews (All languages)

(Select review language)

 SC-LX87 - Delight tempered down... By Rajendra, Other country on 19/11/2013

I purchased the Pioneer SC-LX87 in Bangalore, India just about a month back. I have been an Onkyo person - and have a fully functional TX-NR609 which I love even now. However, I wanted a more powerful receiver to account for the spatial limitations of my home-theater setup - with a better auto-calibration-equalisation than the limited Audyssey 2EQ on TX-NR609. I wanted to try something different than Onkyo and Onkyo being not sure about the release of TX-NR929 in India - the choice was SC-LX87.

SC-LX87 is awesome indeed - weighing in at 18kgs (7 more than 609) and for all that clean power, it still runs cooler than 609. The MCACC is great - the boomy bass that I used to often encounter earlier has almost disappeared - I get a much cleaner and detailed bass now. But yes, MCACC required a bit of manual tweaking over a few nights to get the setup just about right.

Due to spatial limitations I have been stuck with the wall mounted matched 7.1 speakers that came with my Onkyo HT-S5100 about 6 years ago. They are all based in firm wooden cabinets and rated at 8ohms 130W and the fronts go down to 35Hz, Center 60Hz, Surrounds 80Hz - with a downfiring monster of a subwoofer. They are good, but not the best.

The 609 drove them well - and the SC-LX87 does better. Yes, the crossover is set to 80Hz despite the speakers not being THX. Despite these limitations, the sound from all my components - Blu-ray, TV (Tata-Sky HD), DVD, and Cassettes (yes, even cassettes) - is simply gorgeous. Even FM radio sounds so much better.

While I do watch movies and TV once and then - it is music that gets played mostly - Classical (Indian, Western), Jazz, and other Indian music. For music, especially Classical & Jazz, the Pure Direct mode does complete justice - than when I enable the MCACC or other modes - as many others have noted elsewhere for most AVRs.

For movies, MCACC is a must - but it must be done fully and completely (incuding Phase, Standing Wave, Reverb etc). All this takes quite a while - and then some more for manual tweaking - but that time is worth investing in to experience all the richness in sound coming from movies and dvds.

Obviously, I am delighted by SC-LX87 and I am quite certain that exploring all its facets over the coming weeks will enable me to better this delight.

Given all that, there are a few negatives that Pioneer must consider and improve upon. Here they are:

1) The Indian edition DOES NOT come equipped with the WiFi Dongle and the Blue-Tooth Dongle - as advertised.
2) The Remote, though functional, is cluttered and the buttons are small - pressing buttons requires a careful look.
3) The Remote is backlit - but the lettering on the buttons does not stand out and the red light doesn't make it any better.
4) MCACC does not seem to do subwoofer equalisation and calibration - requires manual tweaking.
5) MCACC does not allow different crossovers for different channels - and forces one for all channels - which may be a virtue if one has a matched speaker system.
6) While the Audio options enable one to tweak the sound to get it better, the same cannot be said of Video options (better to leave them at default values - except perhaps the "Detail" and "Contrast" settings - with caution).
7) The GUI, while functional, is much poorer than that of even the 609 (which dates to 2011).

I know that there are control Apps that offer a far superior GUI experience than the cluttered remote and the poor OSD - but then, I will now have to get an iDevice for that - which I cannot given that SC-LX87 has just put a big hole in my pocket (yes, it is very expensive) that will take months to recover!

Concluding words: A Fantastic receiver to fill up large rooms, especially those with spatial limitations, for Music & Movies. It is pricey, and given the limitations, competition may well be up to the mark (say, TX-NR929).


Rating:

  • Overall performance 
  • Design 
  • Sound and/or video quality 
  • Ease of use 
  • Build/construction quality 
  • Value for money 
  • Total average score 

 Replacing earlier Pioneer Receiver By Charles, United Kingdom on 06/10/2013

The LX87 is easy to set up, an improvement on a previous model. So far after two months very satisfied with the receiver and am moving from 5:1 to a 7:1 configuration. I will explore the many features over time, but at present the quality comes through.


Rating:

  • Overall performance 
  • Design 
  • Sound and/or video quality 
  • Ease of use 
  • Build/construction quality 
  • Value for money 
  • Total average score 

 Performance By Damien, France on 04/04/2014

J'ai choisi cette ampli pour sa fabrication Haut de Gamme et c'est Performances.

En Home Cinéma , c'est un vrai pro il fait tout avec une très grande excellence, je le trouve un peu moins bon un stéréo.

Il ne pardonne rien sur les sources de mauvaise qualitées.

Une Grosse critique, l'emplacement des Borniers d'enceintes trop proche, quant on utilise des câbles à forte section.


Rating:

  • Overall performance 
  • Design 
  • Sound and/or video quality 
  • Ease of use 
  • Build/construction quality 
  • Value for money 
  • Total average score 

 SC-LX87 By Spike, United Kingdom on 27/03/2014

Fantastic AV amp, only thing I would like adding is HDMI 2.0 compatibility with higher frame rate feature for future proofing.


Rating:

  • Overall performance 
  • Design 
  • Sound and/or video quality 
  • Ease of use 
  • Build/construction quality 
  • Value for money 
  • Total average score 

 USB-DAC & 9 КАНАЛОВ By Алексей, Russian Federation on 03/01/2014

Заменил модель VSX-921, захотел режим 7.1+Bi-Amp, смотрел отзывы Onkyo (плохая поддержка, отвратительная инструкция). остался верен Pioneer (уже 6-ой усилитель Pioneer). Порадовал USB-DAC (слушаю в основном с компьютера). Есть плюсы относительно 921, подсветка пульта, включение с пульта Favorite для интернет радио, кнопка Enter на лицевой панели. Но осталось куча неприятных мелочей: зачем на каждой новой модели менять расположение кнопок, только привыкнешь к одному пульту, потом все заново. Самый лучший пульт был у модели VSX-916 (кнопки громкости ресивера и телевизора были двойные слева и справа симметрично и очень удобно, сейчас ужасно). Так и не смог пультом управлять телевизором Philips 55pfl8008s, почему то слетают? коды, управление работает только в момент настройки один раз (обучение не возможно из-за радиопульта Philips), но телек имеет ИК-приемник.


Rating:

  • Overall performance 
  • Design 
  • Sound and/or video quality 
  • Ease of use 
  • Build/construction quality 
  • Value for money 
  • Total average score 

 UITSTEKEND By Paul, Netherlands on 31/12/2013

Mooi afgewerkt van Pioneer,zeer degelijk apparaat en een UITSTEKENDE GELUID WEERGAVE.
Zeer prakties voor aansluiten van andere apparaten en een super beeld overbreng.


Rating:

  • Overall performance 
  • Design 
  • Sound and/or video quality 
  • Ease of use 
  • Build/construction quality 
  • Value for money 
  • Total average score 

 LX-87 By Alexandre, France on 19/12/2013

L'apli iPad permet de régler l'ampli directement (si connection internet) sinon elle guide pour les réglages.


La télécommande fait vraiment cheap pour LE vaisseau amiral des ampli pioneer !!!


Rating:

  • Overall performance 
  • Design 
  • Sound and/or video quality 
  • Ease of use 
  • Build/construction quality 
  • Value for money 
  • Total average score 

 AVR with concert qualities By Robert, Spain on 12/12/2013

This Pioneer SC-LX87 A/V Receiver has a sublime audio quality and saves me the trouble to have different installations for movie theater and concert listening. It brings an preformens quality that was previously only available at a higher budget.

The only minus I can mention that there is no usb connection for the use with (for example) an iPod on the backside. Because of that the front flap has to remain open everytime one uses his iPod. Pity, because there is a usb connector on the backside, but its function is limited to be a power source only.


Rating:

  • Overall performance 
  • Design 
  • Sound and/or video quality 
  • Ease of use 
  • Build/construction quality 
  • Value for money 
  • Total average score 

 Soporte total a altavoces de 4 Ohms, bajo consumo en funcionamiento y stanby, potencia musical, THX, calibracion acustica, conexiones traseras y delanteras, USB dac PC y posibilidad total multiamplificacion. By Miguel, Spain on 28/10/2013

Sobre las cualidades arriba valoradas, el mando a distancia es bastante mediocre (teclas muy pequeñas y una iluminacion no acertada en el color ya que deberia ser blanca y además, verte obligado a comprar un iPAD para disponer de un mando virtual.
El Wireless inalambrico deberia estar integrado en el aparato y no estar condicionado a conectar accesorios externos.
Por lo demás estoy muy contento del sonido (suena muy bien), matizando que todo depende de la sala de escucha, altavoces y reproductor Bluray adecuados en calidad al SC-LX87 que cada tenga.


Rating:

  • Overall performance 
  • Design 
  • Sound and/or video quality 
  • Ease of use 
  • Build/construction quality 
  • Value for money 
  • Total average score 

 les performances du detail By FREDERIC, France on 25/10/2013

je redécouvre mes films, spatialisation détail de l'information.
excellente dé-corrélation des canaux rounds. le basse management et simple mais efficace, le MACC fais un très bon travail d'analyse.
Bref
je le recomande


Rating:

  • Overall performance 
  • Design 
  • Sound and/or video quality 
  • Ease of use 
  • Build/construction quality 
  • Value for money 
  • Total average score 

 Compleet multimedia av center By Arno, Netherlands on 21/09/2013

Arno

Krachtige versterker met enorm veel mogelijkheden op gebied van zowel weergave als aansluitingen.
Alles klinkt goed op deze reciever van internet radio tot bluray en sacd
Aansluiten is kinderspel met de av navigator en mcacc doet de rest


Rating:

  • Overall performance 
  • Design 
  • Sound and/or video quality 
  • Ease of use 
  • Build/construction quality 
  • Value for money 
  • Total average score 

 La Perfection By Anonymous, France on 30/08/2013

Pioneer a toujours voulu donner au grand public le meilleur son et la meilleur image, et bien c'est chose faite avec le nouveau LX87. Tout est parfait. L'amélioration est incroyable et remarquable. Tout y est: sensation, frisson et émotion. Je suis comblé!
Je ne regrette pas du tout cet achat, au contraire je le recommande à quiconque.


Rating:

  • Overall performance 
  • Design 
  • Sound and/or video quality 
  • Ease of use 
  • Build/construction quality 
  • Value for money 
  • Total average score 


Register your product to add a review

Press reviews (3)

SC-LX87 - Referenz in AUDIOVISION 10/2013






Zitate:

"Mit dem SC-LX87 trifft Pioneer wieder einmal voll ins Schwarze. Er vereint erstklassigen Sound sowie flexible Klangregler mit modernster Video- und Multimedia-Ausstattung bei geringem Stromverbrauch."

"95 von 100 Punkten"


SC-LX87 - Masterpiece / Referenz bei AreaDVD 11/2013






Zitate:

"Masterpiece"

"Referenz bei AreaDVD"

"Es ist unglaublich, was Pioneer für knapp 2.500 EUR an Gegenwert bietet. Optisch edel, von den Abmessungen her bescheiden und insgesamt unauffällig, dreht der SC-LX87 bei der technischen Qualität nachdrücklich auf. Es beginnt schon bei der Ausstattung – die Feature-Liste möchte einfach nicht enden. Um den gigantischen Funktionsumfang zu beherrschen, raten wir zur Installation von AV Navigator und iControlAV 2013 App auf dem Tablet – dann gehen Erstinstallation und laufender Betrieb tatsächlich entspannt über die Bühne. Toll animiert und mit nützlichen Komfortfunktionen, begeistern AV Navigator und iControl App im Test. Die Anschlussbestückung ist mustergültig, in Anbetracht der Preisklasse gilt dies auch für den Aufbau und die verwendeten Baugruppen. Hoch effiziente, extrem leistungsstarke Class D Endstufen modernster Ausprägung treffen auf Highend-ESS-Sabre DACs, die auch vor nativer DSD-Verarbeitung nicht Halt machen. Pioneers Über-Maschine kann man darüber hinaus auch als edlen USB-DAC verwenden – muffiger PC-Sound ade. MCACC ist, was Funktionsumfang und Präzision beim Einmessen angeht, nach wie vor Marktführer – und gleich 6 (!) Speicherplätze für User-Presets verdienen Lob. Die qualitativ eher durchschnittliche mitgelieferte, wenigstens beleuchtete Fernbedienung ist kein Ruhmesblatt, aber nur ein geringer Teil der Anwender wird den SC-LX87 mittels mitgelieferter Remote steuern. Meist werden Smartphone oder Tablet verwendet. Die OSDs sind grafisch noch in Ordnung, setzen aber keine Maßstäbe mehr. Man merkt, dass Pioneer die Zeichen der Moderne sehr ernst nimmt und den SC-LX87 erstrangig auf App-Betrieb auslegt. Klanglich ist der AV-Receiver nicht nur das bislang beste Pioneer Multichannel-Gerät, das wir je im Test hatten, sondern verweist am Ende des Jahres auch die Konkurrenz auf die Plätze. Die Mischung aus exorbitant hoher Pegelfestigkeit, exzellenter Grobdynamik, überragender Feindynamik, dichter Räumlichkeit und höchst angenehmer Auslegung ist zu diesem Preis derzeit konkurrenzlos. Schön, dass der SC-LX87 auch im Stereobetrieb richtig gut klingt und damit ein herausragender Partner für die Wiedergabe hochwertiger HiRes-Audiodateien ist. Die Videosektion mag nicht zurückstehen und rundet das Ergebnis des Tests eindrucksvoll ab. Bildstabilität, Schärfe, Farbtreue, Kontrast – alles auf einem Level, der unterstreicht, dass der SC-LX87 derzeit der Mehrkanal-Receiver ist, an dem sich die Konkurrenz messen muss."

"Heute ein König – der Pioneer SC-LX87 ist der beste AV-Receiver des Jahres 2013"

AV-Receiver Luxusklasse
Test 25. November 2013

+ Brillante Pegelfestigkeit
+ Grob- und Feindynamik begeisternd
+ Hohe atmosphärische Dichte
+ Klangliche Meisterleistung im THX+dts Neo:X Modus
+ Auch im Stereobetrieb hervorragend
+ Exzellent mittels AV Navigator und iControlAV App 2013 steuerbar und konfigurierbar
+ Anschlussauswahl
+ Maßstäbe setzende Videosektion mit überragendem 4K Upscaling
+ Gediegene Optik und First Class-Finish
+ Preisgünstig für die Leistung

Den gesamten Test finden Sie hier online.


SC-LX87 - DSD-Special in HIFI DIGITAL 4/2013 (September)


Zitate:

"Kompliment an Twonky, Buffalo und Pioneer: Dass das alles in einem so frühen Stadium schon so geschmeidig klappt, ist wirklich nicht selbstverständlich."